Events

2020 Programme

Click here or on heading for more information on Club events

Wed 15 January 8.00 pm Lecture: Caroline Bateman, The Flowering Plants of Arable Fields

Wed 19 February 8.00 pm Lecture: Martin Ellis, Clandon Park: the Fire and the Future

Sat 29 February Surrey Archaeological Society Annual Symposium, Peace Memorial Hall, Ashtead (non-HNHC event)

Wed 18 March 8.00 pm Lecture: Keith Betton, Return of the Peregrine

Sat 21 March Surrey Local History Committee, Surrey History Centre, Woking (non-HNHC event)

Wed 15 April 8.00 pm Lecture: David Bellamy, An Introduction to the History of Reigate Heath

Sat 18 April 2.00pm Visit to SWT Nower Wood, Mill Way

Sat 2 May 2.30pm Newdigate Brickworks walk, Hogspudding Lane

Wed 20 May 8.00 pm Lecture: Caroline Withall 'And since that time has never been heard of' The forgotten boys of the sea: Marine Society merchant sea apprentices, 1772-1873

Wed 17 June 8.00 pm Lecture: Simon Maslin, The Portable Antiquities Scheme and Finds in Surrey

Sat 20 June 2.00 pm Founder's Day Meeting, Details to be published in the Bulletin

Wed 15 July 8.00 pm Lecture: Chris Duffin, Extraordinary Women Geologists

Sat 19 & Sun 20 September 10.00 am to 4.00pm Heritage Open Days at the Museum

Wed 16 September 8.00 pm Lecture: Kate Basley, The Hedgerow Project

Wed 21 October 8.00 pm AGM and President's lecture

Wed 28 November 8.00 pm Lecture: Bob Goddard, Native and Exotic Tropical Hardwoods, their structure, uses and identification

Wed 9 December 8.00 pm Members' talks and social

Wed 20 January 2021 8.00 pm Lecture: Sean Hawkins, Reigate Miscellany

Holmesdale Natural History Club

Founded 1857

President: Andy Sandford

Smiley face

The Holmesdale Natural History Club is a charity (Registered No. 273602), which exists to promote the study of natural history, local history, archaeology and geology in the vicinity of Reigate.

It has extensive museum collections (with some specimens collected in the eighteenth century) which include a large collection of stuffed birds, herbarium specimens (including material collected by James Brewer for the first Flora of Surrey which was published by the Club in 1863), local history and archaeological collections.

Lectures given by visiting speakers or Club members are arranged on the third Wednesday of the month (except December and August) in the museum lecture room. Later in the month there is usually some other activity such as a walk, excursion or social event.

Members receive a Bulletin three times a year with details of the programme, news, and notes on items of interest to the Club.

Annual membership fees (from January to December) are £18 per person; £25 for two people living at the same address, and £30 for a family membership covering two adults plus children. Fee for life membership for those over 21 is at the rate of ten years of the appropriate subscription. A bankers order form will be sent on request. Please apply to the Membership Secretary, The Museum 14 Croydon Road, Reigate, Surrey, RH2 0PG. Click here for a membership form.